PDA

View Full Version : Villanova to replace both coordinators

Gangtackle11
January 14th, 2019, 10:05 AM
http://footballscoop.com/the-scoop/

OC Sam Venuto & DC Joe Trainer will not return next season.

MR. CHICKEN
January 14th, 2019, 10:09 AM
.....WHAAA'S WRONG WHIFF VENUTO...xconfusedx.....HIS O.......WAS DIZZYIN'....xtroublex.............LEAST.....IN NEWARK......:(........AWK!

Redbird 4th & short
January 14th, 2019, 10:15 AM
Good luck ... ISUr did same a year ago ... in fact overhauled our coaching staff (DC left for better job, the rest were fired): OC/QB, DC/DL, OL, WR, RB .. missing 1 more on defense.

- defense ... worked out very well on defense, finished very close 2nd to NDSU in most team stats; certainly helped that Spack was DC by trade (at Purdue), and had groomed outgoing DC and system.
- offense ... the jury still out on offense; inconsistent QB play, chronically poor field position in our losses (plenty blame to go around on this failing), plus our new OC's wife became stricken with cancer for 2nd time. And things just never came together on offense other than our run game. OL wasn't quite as good as we hoped either.

Derby City Duke
January 14th, 2019, 10:20 AM
Seems pretty late in the cycle to be firing coordinators unless the HC already has the replacements lined up (promote from within?). Position group coaches may be a bit easier to find at this point.

mvemjsunpx
January 14th, 2019, 11:41 AM
I can see why Nova would ditch the OC, but I'm not sure why they would want to get rid of the DC.

Lehigh'98
January 14th, 2019, 12:01 PM
Would love to have Trainer.

MR. CHICKEN
January 14th, 2019, 12:18 PM
...........'CAT'S.......REAL PROB....IS DUH FG KICKERS....UH LAST SEVERAL SEASONS........WHOM EVERAH....IS RECRUITIN'......DEESE MISFITS..........SHOOD BE DRAWIN'....DUH SHORT STRAW.....AWK!

RootinFerDukes
January 14th, 2019, 04:07 PM